Christmas Past.

IMG_3471

Christmas is my favorite time of year. In the past we have always done everything at the last-minute, put up the tree a couple of days ahead, a frantic dash to buy all the gifts and realise there isn’t enough time to bake all the Christmas biscuits I had planned on making. Then the big day arrives and a week later its all over. But this year with the little one we decided we were going to have a whole month of Christmas celebrations. I’d like to think our 10 month old enjoyed it as much as we did. (Though i realise he probably would get as much joy from banging on a pot and pan).

So this Christmas we started celebrating on the 1st of December and we marked it by getting our Christmas tree, listening to Christmas carols by Frank Sinatra, and drinking hot chocolate in front of the fire. A month later why does it feel like it’s all over too quick? I guess that is what makes it special.

We had lots of mulled wine…

IMG_3465

Made my cards featuring red-nosed reindeer’s. The faces are cut from cloth scraps and the antlers and nose painted on. Find the original posting here 

IMG_3115

IMG_3109     IMG_3111     IMG_3124

Baked a batch of gingerbread biscuits. Recipe here. (ps. I used dark brown sugar instead of light brown sugar as that’s what I had)

IMG_3364

IMG_3351 IMG_3361

Gathered greens from our walks with the dog for wreath making…

IMG_3133  IMG_3150

And made some cloth decorations. Simply cut two pieces of the shapes from the fabric, stitch them together using a blanket stitch and stuff with toy stuffing before sewing the ends. String all three together to make a garland or hang individually from the tree.

IMG_3051     IMG_3055     IMG_3057

IMG_3061 IMG_3073

Now its the new year and I am sitting with a cup of tea and sleeping baby in my arms and planning and plotting my vegetable garden for 2014. There is always something to look forward to.

 

One thought on “Christmas Past.

  1. I was there! Had a lovely time sitting in front of the fire, listening to Frank Sinatra and Nat king Cole, munching on cookies, warm mulled wine in hand -ah Christmas, why come once a year?
    I either need to rack my brains for innovative ideas for gifts next year or make it easy by following this blog.what next Nat?

Leave a comment